Geographies of Justice and Social Transformation Editorial Board: Thanking the first generation, welcoming the next.

In 2007 I met Neil Smith and Derek Krissoff at the San Francisco AAG to discuss the idea of essentially re-creating a book series at the UGA Press that Neil had initially created at Temple UP (with Peter Wissoker).  For a host of reasons, Neil’s Place, Culture, and Politics series only produced two (very good) books including George Henderson’s California and the Fictions of Capital and Katharyne Mitchell’s Crossing the Neoliberal Line Pacific Rim Migration and the Metropolis before it prematurely shut down.

Melissa Wright, Andy Herod and I,  along with Derek Krissoff, got the Geographies of Justice and Social Transformation series off the ground at UGA Press later that year, and then in 2011, Deb Cowen replaced Andy as one of our co-editors.  More recently, Derek went off to be the Editor in Chief of the University of Nebraska Press, and we have been lucky to start working with the UGA Press’ new Editor in Chief, Mick Gusinde-Duffy.

Nineteen books later, with a large number more either under contract or at various stages of review or publication, many people tell us they think the series is doing very well.  We agree.

While ultimately it is the quality of the books that make a book series, much of the early success of the series has resulted from the commitment and support of our inaugural editorial advisory board.  The members of that board include:

Sharad Chari (University of Witwatersand); Bradon Ellem (University of Sydney), Gillian Hart (University of California, Berkeley), Andy Herod (University of Georgia), Jennifer Hyndman (York University), Larry Knopp (University of Washington, Tacoma), Heidi Nast (Depaul University),  Jamie Peck (University of British Columbia), Frances Fox Piven (City University of New York), Laura Pulido (University of Southern California), Paul Routledge (Leeds University), Bobby Wilson (University of Alabama).

We are very grateful for all of their guidance and the solidarity they brought to this endeavor.  As they say, “we couldn’t have done this without you”.  As these things go however, we have decided it is time to refresh the board as we move into the next phase of the series, so we are very pleased to announce the second generation of the GOJST board, which includes:

Mathew Coleman (Ohio State University), Sapana Doshi (University of Arizona), Zeynep Gambetti (Boğaziçi University), Geoff Mann (Simon Fraser University),  James McCarthy (Clark University), Beverly Mullings (Queen’s University), Harvey Neo (National University of Singapore), Geraldine Pratt (University of British Columbia), Ananya Roy (University of California, Berkeley), Michael Watts, (University of California, Berkeley), Ruth Wilson Gilmore (CUNY Graduate Center), Jamie Winders (Syracuse University), Brenda S.A. Yeoh
(National University of Singapore).

One of the members of the initial editorial board who I did not yet thank is Neil Smith, who served until he passed away on September 29th, 2012.  As we near the first anniversary of Neil’s passing, we at the series are working to launch a Neil Smith Book Prize in recognition of his inspiration, and the other many forms of help he offered getting the series up and going.  We hope the Neil Smith Book Prize will not only honor Neil, but also serve to keep the series growing with the highest caliber scholarship possible.

Stay tuned to learn more about efforts to help us establish the book prize in Neil’s name when we launch our fund raising drive in the coming months.